Deconfinement: we are delighted to announce that Les Jardins d’Étretat are open again, every day from 10 am to 7 pm

Gardens plan

Pick a zone to find out more
I. Jardin Avatar

Jardin Avatar is situated at the entrance to Les Jardins d'Étretat. Avatar was the Sanskrit title of the guardian of the Universe, who permeated it with his divine presence. Jardin Avatar is a gateway that leads visitors beyond the bounds of reality, into the magical realm of surrealism. There even trees make their music. Strikingly trimmed plants beckon the visitor to step into a fairytale where anyone can find a path to their own Avatar.


II. Jardin Émotions

The Jardin Émotions was modelled after the first French oyster farm, which was owned by Queen Marie Antoinette, and lies at the foot of Les Jardin d'Étretat in the waters of the English Channel. The vision of the ocean floor became the main inspiration for this garden. The trimmed plants echo the landscapes of the underwater world and the oysters’ habitat. It is also home to a set of expressively sculpted faces. The sculptures capture the entire range of emotions and symbolise the various “mo...


III. Jardin Impressions

Jardin Impressions is the heart of Les Jardins d’Étretat. The garden opens up on the iconic historical panorama of the ocean and the cliffs of Étretat, which have inspired many great artists. Jean-Baptiste Camille Corot, Eugène Delacroix, Edouard Manet, Claude Monet, and Vasily Polenov – all came here to paint. The topiary compositions embody the tides and ebbs of the English Channel, enhancing the effect of being immersed under water.


IV. Jardin d’Aval

Jardin d’Aval is a meeting and resting point for the garden’s visitors. The tale of Alice in Wonderland inspired it. The garden is magically surrounded by fanciful plants and numerous yew arches symbolising the famous Aval cliff of Étretat. Jardin d’Aval boasts a rich collection of orchids, their blooming flowers enhancing the garden's air of surrealism with their unusual colours and shapes.


V. Jardin Zen

Jardin Zen embodies a harmonious coexistence of man and nature. Only plants with white blossoms grow here, instilling into the viewer a sense of virginal purity and the unity with nature. The garden features an audio installation, the purpose of which is to awaken the forces of good and to allow visitors to discover new ways of seeing their surroundings through art.


VI. Jardin La Manche

This garden is situated at the centre of Les Jardins d'Étretat. It is composed of mazes made of large-scale trimmed plants, evocative of the troubled waves of the ocean. The silvery colour of the leaves in the plant compositions resembles the sea foam on the crests of the waves crashing against the cliffs of Étretat in a storm. Jardin La Manche is renowned for its ability to inspire vivid emotions in visitors. When falling into the vortex of the raging element, one wishes to escape from it an...


VII. Jardin d'Amont

Jardin d'Amont towers majestically over Les Jardins d'Étretat. The plants morph into cliffs and merge with the line of the horizon. They imitate the rocky layers of the White Cliffs of Normandy’s Alabaster Coast and astonish with their mathematical precision and geometric synchronicity. The terrace of Jardin d’Amont is the highest vantage point of Les Jardins d'Étretat, overlooking the gardens and the enchanting scenery of Étretat.


Tickets
We are using cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience Read our policy.

Déconfinement : nous sommes ravis de vous annoncer que Les Jardins d’Etretat sont ouverts de nouveau, tous les jours de 10 à 19 heures. Le port du masque obligatoire.

Carte du jardin

Sélectionnez la zone des jardins sur cette carte
I. Jardin Avatar

Le jardin Avatar se situe à l’entrée des Jardins d’Étretat. Avatara désigne en sanskrit la « descente du ciel d’une divinité omniprésente qui protège l’Univers ». Le jardin Avatar est un portail qui mène au-delà de la réalité, vers un surréalisme magique. Ici, même les arbres jouent leur propre musique. Les plantes taillées aux formes insolites nous invitent dans un conte de fées où chacun choisit son chemin à la rencontre de son « avatar ».


II. Jardin Émotions

Le Jardin Émotions a été inspiré par la première ferme ostréicole française de Marie-Antoinette, qui se situe au pied des Jardins d’Étretat dans les eaux de la Manche. L’image des fonds sous-marins constitue l’idée principale de ce jardin. Les végétaux taillés nous rappellent les paysages de ce monde sous-marin et du milieu de vie des huîtres. L’ensemble est complété par des sculptures de « visages-émotions » qui expriment toute la gamme des sentiments et qui symbolisent les différents « état...


III. Jardin Impressions

Le jardin Impressions est le cœur des Jardins d’Étretat. C’est ici que s’ouvre la célèbre vue panoramique sur la Manche et les falaises, entrée dans l’histoire grâce au grand nombre de peintres qui l’ont admirée et ont puisé leur inspiration dans sa beauté. Jean-Baptiste Camille Corot, Eugène Delacroix, Édouard Manet, Claude Monet, Vassili Polenov sont venus dans ce lieu pour peindre. Les compositions de végétaux taillés rappellent au spectateur les marées hautes et les marées basses de la Ma...


IV. Jardin d’Aval

Le jardin d’Aval est un endroit de rencontre et de détente pour les visiteurs des Jardins d’Étretat. Il réinvente Alice au pays des merveilles. Cet espace est entouré de plantes insolites et de nombreux arcs d’ifs qui forment une réplique végétale de la célèbre falaise Porte d’Aval à Étretat. Le jardin d’Aval est renommé pour sa riche collection d’orchidées, dont les fleurs renforcent l’effet de surréalité grâce à leurs formes et à leurs couleurs extraordinaires.


V. Jardin Zen

Le jardin Zen représente l’harmonie de l’union de l’humanité et de la nature. Les végétaux choisis sont uniquement des plantes à floraison blanche. Le spectateur éprouve une sensation de pureté virginale et de communion avec la nature. L’installation sonore du jardin reflète l’idée d’éveil du bien. Elle fait découvrir de nouveaux moyens d’appréhender le monde à travers l’art.


VI. Jardin La Manche

Le jardin La Manche se situe au centre des Jardins d’Étretat. Il est formé d’un labyrinthe massif de plantes taillées à la manière de vagues déferlantes. La couleur argentée des feuilles rappelle celle de l’écume des vagues qui s’écrasent contre les falaises d’Étretat. Le jardin La Manche provoque des émotions intenses. Toute personne qui se retrouve au milieu d’un élément déchaîné n’a qu’une seule envie : s’en sortir « saine et sauve »...


VII. Jardin d'Amont

Le jardin d’Amont surplombe majestueusement les Jardins d’Étretat. Les plantes deviennent des falaises et se fondent avec l’horizon côtier. Répétant la coupe des falaises de la Côte d’Albâtre en Normandie, elles impressionnent par leur régularité mathématique et leur concordance géométrique. La terrasse du jardin d’Amont est le point le plus élevé des Jardins d’Étretat. Elle vous offre, à vol d’oiseau, une vue imprenable sur les jardins et les environs.


Billets
We are using cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience Read our policy.